Vakilat and CaseMine compared
Last updated 27 October 2026
CaseMine alternative: Vakilat matches Supreme Court quotations word for word before you cite them in court. Monthly plans from ₹799 with five free runs.
In short
CaseMine combines a comprehensive case-law repository covering every Indian High Court, appellate tribunals, and foreign common-law jurisdictions with AMICUS, an AI assistant designed for legal research, contract review, and document drafting. Its visual citation mapping tool helps advocates trace precedent networks and identify judgments that received negative treatment or were overruled.
Vakilat is intentionally narrower in geographic scope and far stricter in citation verification. While CaseMine spans multiple jurisdictions, Vakilat focuses exclusively on the 47,578 judgments of the Supreme Court of India. Before delivering an answer, Vakilat verifies each authority against stored court rulings, opens every citation directly at its pinpoint paragraph, and matches every quoted passage word for word. On its public chat interface, CaseMine AMICUS includes an explicit warning cautioning advocates that responses may contain errors in cases, titles, or citation codes. Vakilat eliminates this courtroom risk by removing unsupported assertions or isolating them with detailed reasons before counsel reads them.
For criminal matters governed by India’s new criminal codes, the platforms offer different tools. CaseMine provides search access across statutory texts. Vakilat adds a dedicated criminal law transition engine that links the IPC, CrPC, and Indian Evidence Act to the Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita (BNS), Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita (BNSS), and Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam (BSA), determining the applicable substantive and procedural law based on offence and FIR dates. Vakilat also delivers research answers across 22 scheduled Indian languages, keeping judicial quotes in the Court’s authoritative English.
The pricing structures represent different commercial philosophies. CaseMine charges ₹1,999 for its Essential tier and ₹3,999 for AI Pro for one month, with AI Pro capping AMICUS usage at 250 credits per month. Taxes are not stated on the checkout page, and subscription fees are non-refundable. For a solo litigator, CaseMine AI Pro totals ₹56,625 per year with GST. For a three-lawyer chamber, annual costs reach ₹1,69,875. Vakilat provides transparent, self-serve monthly pricing starting at ₹799 a seat plus GST (₹11,314 a year), includes all AI research features without credit caps, offers prorated refunds on unused runs of a cancelled month, and lets advocates test five research runs free without entering a card.
Choose CaseMine for multi-court coverage, foreign common-law research, and visual precedent mapping. Choose Vakilat when research must stand up before the Supreme Court with checked pinpoint citations, at ₹799 a month for an advocate.
Side by side
Facts about CaseMine are taken from its own website on 27 October 2026. “Not described on its website” means we looked and found nothing; it may still exist.
Courts covered
VakilatSupportedSupreme Court of India, 47,578 judgments decided from 1950, year by year on the coverage page. High Courts and tribunals are not covered yet. Source
CaseMineSupportedSupreme Court from 1950, all High Courts, tribunals and commissions, and US, UK and Irish courts on its top plan. Source
Answers to legal questions
VakilatSupportedAsk in plain words. The answer states the law and cites Supreme Court judgments, quoting the Court's own words.
CaseMinePartialAMICUS answers plain-English legal questions and drafts, from the CaseMine database. Source
Where a citation points
Checking citations and quotations
VakilatSupportedBefore you see the answer, ordinary code finds every citation in the stored judgment and matches every quotation word for word. A second AI model reviews support. A statement that fails is removed or set apart with its reason. Source
CaseMineNot describedCitation Search finds a case from its citation. A check of an answer's citations or quotations: not described. AMICUS warns it may include errors in cases, titles or citation codes. Source
Later judgments
VakilatSupportedEach judgment lists the later judgments in Vakilat that cite it. It does not label how they treated it.
CaseMineSupportedIts citator shows negative treatment and overruling. Source
IPC, CrPC and Evidence Act to BNS, BNSS and BSA
VakilatSupportedEvery IPC, CrPC and Evidence Act section linked to its BNS, BNSS or BSA counterpart, and the code that applies worked out by fixed rules from your dates and stage. Source
CaseMineNot describedNot described on its website.
Indian languages
Your own documents
VakilatSupportedAttach up to five files to a question, up to 20 MB and 1,000 pages each. The answer cites them by file and page.
CaseMineSupportedCaseIQ reads a pleading or judgment and suggests related cases, up to 50 MB on AI Pro. Source
Price
VakilatSupportedAdvocate ₹799, Professional ₹1,599, Chambers ₹2,999 a seat a month plus GST, billed monthly. Unused runs of a cancelled month are refunded. Source
CaseMinePartialEssential ₹1,999 and AI Pro ₹3,999 for one month; AI Pro includes 250 AMICUS credits a month. GST is not stated, and fees are not refunded. Source
Free use
Inside AI assistants
VakilatSupportedA Vakilat connector for Claude searches and reads judgments and checks citations, with 30 free calls a day.
CaseMineNot describedNot described on its website.
| Topic | Vakilat | CaseMine |
|---|---|---|
| Courts covered | Supported Supreme Court of India, 47,578 judgments decided from 1950, year by year on the coverage page. High Courts and tribunals are not covered yet. Source | Supported Supreme Court from 1950, all High Courts, tribunals and commissions, and US, UK and Irish courts on its top plan. Source |
| Answers to legal questions | Supported Ask in plain words. The answer states the law and cites Supreme Court judgments, quoting the Court's own words. | Partial AMICUS answers plain-English legal questions and drafts, from the CaseMine database. Source |
| Where a citation points | Supported Each authority opens at the paragraph it relies on, beside the answer, with a link to the Court's copy. Source | Partial Judgment pages show the most cited paragraphs. Paragraph links in AMICUS answers: not described on its website. Source |
| Checking citations and quotations | Supported Before you see the answer, ordinary code finds every citation in the stored judgment and matches every quotation word for word. A second AI model reviews support. A statement that fails is removed or set apart with its reason. Source | Not described Citation Search finds a case from its citation. A check of an answer's citations or quotations: not described. AMICUS warns it may include errors in cases, titles or citation codes. Source |
| Later judgments | Supported Each judgment lists the later judgments in Vakilat that cite it. It does not label how they treated it. | Supported Its citator shows negative treatment and overruling. Source |
| IPC, CrPC and Evidence Act to BNS, BNSS and BSA | Supported Every IPC, CrPC and Evidence Act section linked to its BNS, BNSS or BSA counterpart, and the code that applies worked out by fixed rules from your dates and stage. Source | Not described Not described on its website. |
| Indian languages | Supported The dashboard in 22 Indian languages and English. Answers come in the language you choose, with case names and quotations kept in the Court's words. Source | Partial A Translation mode in AMICUS lists 13 languages. Answers in Indian languages: not described. Source |
| Your own documents | Supported Attach up to five files to a question, up to 20 MB and 1,000 pages each. The answer cites them by file and page. | Supported CaseIQ reads a pleading or judgment and suggests related cases, up to 50 MB on AI Pro. Source |
| Price | Supported Advocate ₹799, Professional ₹1,599, Chambers ₹2,999 a seat a month plus GST, billed monthly. Unused runs of a cancelled month are refunded. Source | Partial Essential ₹1,999 and AI Pro ₹3,999 for one month; AI Pro includes 250 AMICUS credits a month. GST is not stated, and fees are not refunded. Source |
| Free use | Supported Five research runs free, no card. Searching and reading judgments is free on every plan. Source | Partial Keyword search and full judgments are free without an account. Source |
| Inside AI assistants | Supported A Vakilat connector for Claude searches and reads judgments and checks citations, with 30 free calls a day. | Not described Not described on its website. |
Where CaseMine goes further
Questions
How does Vakilat prevent citation errors compared to CaseMine AMICUS?
Vakilat checks every cited case against its repository of 47,578 Supreme Court judgments, opens each authority at its exact paragraph, and matches quoted passages word for word. CaseMine AMICUS displays a clear warning on its chat interface that answers may include errors in cases, titles, or citation codes, whereas Vakilat flags or removes unsupported statements before delivering the answer.
What does Vakilat do that AMICUS does not describe?
Vakilat opens each authority at its paragraph, matches every quotation word for word against the judgment, and sets apart any statement that fails, before you see the answer. It also works out whether the IPC or the BNS applies from your dates, and answers in 22 Indian languages.
Is Vakilat a cost-effective alternative to CaseMine for Indian advocates?
Vakilat is a cost-effective alternative for litigators focusing on Supreme Court jurisprudence, pricing its Advocate plan at ₹799 per month plus GST with transparent usage and pro-rata refunds on unused runs. CaseMine charges ₹1,999 for Essential and ₹3,999 for AI Pro with 250 monthly AMICUS credits, without stating GST on its checkout page and maintaining a strict no-refund policy.
How does Vakilat compare to CaseMine for new criminal laws like BNS and BNSS?
Vakilat provides a dedicated criminal law engine that maps IPC, CrPC, and Indian Evidence Act sections to BNS, BNSS, and BSA, determining applicable provisions based on the date of offence and FIR. CaseMine hosts statutory texts and search capabilities, but does not provide an automated legal transition tool for criminal procedure dates.
How do Vakilat and CaseMine handle confidential client documents and pleadings?
Vakilat lets advocates upload up to five case files (up to 20 MB and 1,000 pages each) to analyze facts against Supreme Court precedents, without using your private pleadings to train commercial AI systems. CaseMine offers CaseIQ for analyzing briefs up to 50 MB to suggest related authorities, under its general web privacy policy.
Can advocates rely on Vakilat on mobile phones during courtroom oral arguments?
Yes, Vakilat is designed for responsive mobile browser performance, allowing counsel to pull up checked paragraph authorities and read official Supreme Court text directly to the bench during hearings. CaseMine provides a web platform with visual citation mapping, though navigating complex case maps and checking unchecked AMICUS text on handheld screens can prove cumbersome during urgent submissions.
Try it on your own question
Ask Vakilat a question from this week's matter. Five research runs are free, with no card. See also how the checks work and which years Vakilat holds.
Sources
Checked on 27 October 2026. Products change, so if anything here is out of date, write to hello@vakilat.io and we will correct it.